Many people aspire to a balance between work and other parts of their lives, but few achieve it. What are the problems in trying to achieve this and how can these problems be overcome?

It is true that achieving a balanced lifestyle among professional and personal life is an essential aspiration that has bolstered many individuals seeking but a few gaining. In this essay, I will delve into two crucial factors driving this fact as well as suggesting some methods to refine problems involved.

Starting from employees’ initial motivations, their jobs serve not only as a sustainable financial support but also as a way to achieve their prestige and their career growth. Pursuing those motivations within the limited span of a 24-hour day puts workers at the expense of other life aspects, such as relationships and healthcare, if they live with the desire to materialize their dreams. Furthermore, Work has been increasingly expansive in terms of both workloads and physical workplace boundaries, driven by the advancement of technology and the widespread availability of the internet which allows ready access from any corner of the planet. For example, with the allure of monthly salary as a worker’s major motivation, it is irresistible to stay in touch with their managers or their customers through messenger or phone call, even though employees are staying on vacation in another country.

After scrutinizing the two main reasons mentioned above, those seeking a more healthy lifestyle could go further in the aspiration of balancing between work and ordinary life. Firstly, reevaluating their dreams plays a crucial role in navigating their lifestyle and re-scheduling their daily timetable. Accompanying with minimizing the important position of their career, relationships and well-being should also be prioritized as their indispensable links in an individual life chain. Secondly, being encouraged to deny calls or messages from work relationships by turning off personal computers and phones is also a practice acquired during the amusing moment of vacation.

In conclusion, while it is true that work brings immeasurable benefits to workers, it is genuine only when workers know how to balance workplace, family place and personal private place by underscoring the boundaries among those places not only physically but also temporally, such as limiting their career desire and the influence of technology.