Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

In this contemporary life, formal “pen and paper” examinations are considered an important way of measuring success in educational settings. However, many people have the belief that this method is not always the best option. In my view, educators should not only base on “pen and paper” examinations to assess students’ results.

There is no denying the fact that it is necessary to apply “pen and paper” examinations for the educational purpose. By doing this, students can be trained using their memorizing ability in doing tests requiring rote learning. In addition, to handle well writing tests, students have to learn how to arrange their ideas in logical orders. This is because those tests often force students to accomplish their idea-arrangement skill. Nevertheless, some students might feel stressed if they face tests checking their information memorization all the time. Besides, students’ bad hand-writings may not create a good impression to the examiners, which might lead to poor results regardless of their right answers.

Moreover, in real life, different students possess different types of intelligence. Therefore, in my opinion, teachers should vary methods of examinations. In fact, some students have the advantage of verbal performance rather than in writings. Others are better at body movements (one type of intelligence) suitable for professions such as dancing or acting, or they might be good at work related to machinery such as computer, and other types of real objects. This would help students to adapt well to real working environment, and achieve as much success as their peers in the future in this multi-job world.

In conclusion, although “pen and paper” examinations can assess students’ performance somewhat, I believe that the variety of types of examinations is more vital in the modern time.