Many people believe that high schools should focus their education on mathematics and science, rather than covering a wider range of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, more and more education managers are concentrating on the education of mathematics and science than other modules. It has been suggested that mathematics and science are the most pivotal subjects in school curriculums, as well as a social issue in everyday life. I strongly agree with this idea, and in this essay, I will provide some arguments to support my opinion.

Generally speaking, there is a wide range of reasons why people believe that high school students had better study more mathematics and science than other modules. From a social point of view, the primary argument supporting this idea is that in modern society, the development of science strikingly affects our lives. By improving advanced technology, people can live more convenient and useful. Consequently, the advancement of science and mathematics is crucial goals for future generations. If most students learn these modules such as science and mathematics intensively, they will become intelligent people who can contribute to the improvement of society. From a practical point of view, another key argument in support of this idea is that many modern companies prefer applicants with scientific abilities. In these days, many young generations are suffering from unemployment. However, engineering companies are lack of applicants. This is because most students tend to dislike science and mathematics. The result of this is that now many students are in joblessness, which in turn leads to social problems.

However, it must be said there are several arguments against this idea that students should learn various subjects. Perhaps the strongest of these is that school managers should make them keep a good balance between general subjects and liberal-art subjects such as music, art, and physical education. If students learn various substance from well-rounded curriculums, they will grow creative generalists, not certain specialists.

In conclusion, in today’s globalized world, learning a new language is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. I believe quite strongly that advanced education in mathematics and science for students is an essential key to hold the future’s vision.