Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether governments should control the design of new buildings in urban areas or investors should design buildings freely as they feel suitable. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I agree with the former opinion.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the government in big cities should regulate the design of buildings which are newly developed. The main reason for believing this is that they have a responsibility to secure the safety of general citizens. Architectures designed without legal safety standards are likely to break down sooner or later. This endangers residents and visitors in the city, which can be prevented by adequate instruction by the government. It is also possible to say that governmental controls are necessary to preserve a beautiful scenery that the city originally has. Freely designed buildings can disfigure such a city view, harming the value of the city. One good illustration of this is Kyoto city. It has strict regulations for colors and the height of buildings, which contribute to maintaining the traditional Japanese atmosphere in the ancient capital of Japan.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that people spending money should be allowed to design new buildings in a way they feel is adequate. People often have this opinion because it can have a favorable impact on the local economy. These days, scenic views in cities are increasingly important in tourism with the popularity of social media, such as Instagram and Tik Tok. Therefore, unique architecture can contribute to attracting many tourists from all over the world, boosting the local economy. If the government imposes strict restrictions on the design of buildings, the city will be less appealing visually, which may lead to a significant loss of income.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments are convincing. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the design of buildings should be regulated legally from the viewpoint of safety and preservation of city views rather than allowing people spending money to design freely from an economic perspective.