Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness, while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether happiness depends on oneself or other external elements. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I agree with the former opinion.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that happiness depends on oneself. This is because no one can provide others with happiness. It is only oneself that can tell what makes the one happy. For example, Mary, one of my friends got married to Tom whom her boss had introduced to her but divorced him quickly. A few years later, she married Brown whom she found by herself and loved from the bottom of her heart and has been happily married for more than ten years. It is also possible to say that people can obtain true happiness only by making great efforts. One good illustration of this is a family relationship. People often struggle to understand their partners, raise their children, and solve family problems. Such efforts can make them happy in the end.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that external factors have a significant influence on individuals’ happiness. People often have this opinion because happiness is a kind of emotion that can be affected by external stimulation. This means that sometimes people can be happy, but sometimes unhappy according to what is happening around them. For example, a person, who has lived a happy life so far, can be unhappy suddenly due to the death of a family member. Moreover, It is often external factors, such as support from others that can relieve sadness and make them happy again.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments are convincing. On balance, however, I tend to believe that individuals have responsibility for their own happiness because it can be found only by themselves, rather than conferred by others.