Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?

Many museums and historical spectacles are the main attractions for tourists but for local residents. This essay will explain more about the reasons and the solutions to appeal to them to the places as much as to the overseas tourists.

There are specific causes for such a huge difference in the number of the two kinds of visitors. First of all, people living in the neighboring areas seem to have got accustomed to their history. Travelling to these places will be a waste of time and money due to the travelling, food, entrance and tour guide costs. People there would not be likely to be willing to pay so large an amount of money to observe what they have already known. Meanwhile, international tourists have a tendency to pay a visit in those places to further their knowledge and experience the region’s customs. Secondly, in order to maintain the historical meaning of the sites, the buildings must be remained unchanged, which can be unattractive to the local residents.

Some solutions can be put forward to encourage more local people to visit historical places. One solution is to create more entertainment grounds with traditional games. The second solution is to describe the items they are observing to increase their knowledge. The third solution is decreasing the cost which is too high for local people. Furthermore, the places can be decorated and installed some furniture to increase the visitors’ comfort.

In conclusion, the major causes for the disinterest of the local people in historical places are the time, cost, interior and outsider parts of the places, which are mentioned above. Actions should be proceeded to gain local people’s attraction to such places.