Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that national authorities should conduct and supervise research in science. In my opinion, I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are several reasons why governments should control scientific research. Firstly, scientific inventions require a large amount of money. In other words, there are many things to buy in order to use for the experiments, such as the salary of scientists or the high-standard machines. Due to that reason, the national authorities should be the most suitable ones to have responsibilities. Secondly, decisions for applying scientific achievements - which is the most important factor, should be made by the governments. Take the vaccines of the coronavirus as a prime example. Before being published in society, national authorities had to test several times, conduct many experiments to ensure the quality of it on human health.

On the other hand, some people may argue that scientific inventions should be supervised by private organizations. To begin with, the state budget is limited since governments need to control a number of aspects, namely: education, country defenses army, and military forces. Owing to this reason, companies should share the responsibilities so that the qualities and quantities of science research are well-received. Furthermore, with the assistance of many companies, the national authorities not only be helped with the budgets but also the skilled labor forces.

To sum up, despite some concerns about should research of science be carried out and managed by governments, I hold the view that private firms ought to share the responsibilities with the national authorities.