Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree/ disagree?

Scientific breakthroughs have played an important role in humane society and ushered in an era of all aspects of life. Who should be the one to finance the research and conduct scientific discoveries is a topic of growing interest. Some concern about the reliability of research that is headed by sole proprietorships in lieu of government. I completely agree with this view.

I am convinced that private firms should not be allowed to partake in scientific studies. This is simply because the starting point of some companies initially are toward sustainable business, which means the more the profits they earn, the more benefit they obtain. Therefore, it is difficult to assure that all ventures will prioritize customer benefit over their massive income. Medical field perfectly exemplifies how some unethical companies could pose a serious threat to the community. Some news have widely informed serious cases, which companies sophisticatedly did unrealistic numbers and information in their study and magnified the medical properties beyond its effects. Adversely, those who have limited expertise will not hesitate to trust in the paper showing fraud statistics and even pay steep prices wishing for the enormous benefit of medicine. This again proves that it is risky to permit non-governmental enterprises.

Another pronounced drawback is that giving some ventures specialising in weapons might raise worrying problems for country security and residents. Firstly, when corporations hold the right to invent and manufacture dangerous weapons, the government might find it hard to repress those who own dangerous weapons and tend to be a rebellion politically. This definitely risks the nation’s peace when it unintentionally offers private firms power to threaten others. Additionally, for enterprises which have authorities in weapons-grade nuclear materials, the danger of this is negatively far-reaching. The scale of nuclear weapon exposed to radioactivity and dangerous chemicals out-of-control that a company could invisibly handle without regulation from the government. As a consequence, innocent residents living around the business area unconsciously live under the threat of fatal repercussions such as lung cancer caused by daily domestic contaminated water and soils.

In conclusion, I believe it is not worth to imperial people’s life as well as national security by allowing business investing without governmental censorship.