Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring?

What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Compared to early 2000s, zoos have undoubtedly lost their popularity as a form of educational, or otherwise, entertainment. As such, it is the belief of numerous people that zoos do not serve a purpose any longer, only succeeding in causing problems, and need to be shut down. In this essay, I will explain these problems and the suggested solutions.

One big problem is the animal cruelty in some zoos, which includes the animal just being there as living species are being forced to live outside of their natural habitat. A prime example of this is a caged in lion via unspeakable methods, which is excruciating to just think about as we, humans, share many characteristics with our fellow mammals, feelings being one of them. An alternative picture could be of open safaris, and the previously displaced species roaming free in these destination zoos.

Another issue, which derives from the one above, is the displacement of these animals from their given habitats, disturbing the Earth’s natural system as a consequence. This is because, animals are born with certain adaptations, and too many of a single species being away from their home for a stretched period of time results in changes in the life-cycle patterns. For instance, too many polar bears being away from the Antarctic means less reproduction and hence a risk of endangering the species and increase in seals in the area. However, what would solve this is returning these animals, which will automatically lead to the restoration of the food-chain and a more natural Earth.

Thus, it can be concluded that, a number of problems brought on by zoos are a cause of animal displacement. In my view, we can resolve any and all future issues by the Animal Rights organisations stepping up and coordinating the return of the innocent beings.