Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

It is clear that English is considered the global language. Some may even give importance to it over the local language, while others fear the the risk of the latter dying out. In this essay, I will discuss why it is important to learn English, yet ensuring the survival of the local tongue is also paramount.

My view dictates, English must be learnt at school level to enable the younger generations with international communication skills. With increasing globalisation, a significant barrier for employees is the language. I believe, the fastest and easiest solution to this is declaring English as the global language. Conversely, a chat between two people of the same multi-national company, sitting in different corners of the world, may become slightly troublesome. Say, a French and Bengali sit together to talk over financial sheets, they would face obstacles in relaying their analyses to the other, unless a common speech exists between the two.

However, it is of utmost value that mother tongues are preserved at schools and colleges. This would be possible if it is taught alongside English. Not only is English easy to learn, but being able to hold a basic conversation should be considered enough, as the aim is to lay the foundation in a developing mind. For instance, not being able to speak English would mean stunted interactions with an international. Later in life, if a student wishes to, they can take it up as an elective in college for advanced learning. In contrast, a real life example of a language dying out is New Zealand’s Maori, because of which their indigenous heritage and culture is all but forgotten.

In conclusion, schools need to offer English alongside the native language, as each holds weight of their own. The responsibility lies with the education ministries to promote the depth of each language in national curriculums. Only then, will there be a balance.