Many people go to university for higher education. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, there is a remarkable emphasis on the pursuit of formal qualifications and academic occupations. Therefore, the predictable shortage of the manual workforce is becoming a serious problem. Considering both economic and social development aspects, I believe that a higher proportion of citizens should be oriented to pursue skill acquisition.

On the one hand, tertiary education can be inappropriate for the majority of high school students who have below-average academic performances. First and foremost, it is a fact that universities mainly aim to produce elite human resources for certain areas, namely science, technology, or law, and they are too difficult for most people. Students are aware of this situation during their general education stage. Nevertheless, their decisions after graduation lean towards university due to the Confucianism prejudice which disrespects and underestimates manual jobs. As a result, university degrees for many youngsters seem to soothe the hunger for fame and recognition, rather than suit their intellectual ability.

On the other hand, stimulating more young students to choose blue-collar jobs makes their lives and society function more effectively. Skill acquisition plays an essential role in ensuring basic living standards as well as supporting people to focus on their specialized jobs. The reason why there is a tendency to avoid manual occupations is biased career orientation for students at school. If teenagers have a more thorough understanding of skill-based jobs and know that they are a more suitable career than academic learning, they will possibly choose to become workers. In consequence, there will be significant growth in skilled labor, balancing with intellectual counterparts and bringing numerous benefits to the economy.

To sum up, vocational training is evidently irreplaceable in the well-being of human life. Recognizing its importance does not mean underestimating tertiary education, but delivering more thoughtful career orientation to the young generation. The harmonization between these two educational systems is the key to our society’s well-being.