Some people say that devoting one's time to family activities is more important than spending time working. Others believe that dedicating one's time to work is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that the time a person spends working is more beneficial than he time he or she spends interacting with their family. However, there is a more persuasive argument that devoting time to family is important as both individuals and families are far happier when they have more time together.

On the one hand, working is essential to ensure family’s financial wellbeing. Because if a worker cannot make a living, the overall happiness of his or her family cannot be ensured. Therefore, most people must commit much of their lives to their careers. For example, parents sometimes miss out on events in their children’s lives, but this does indicate that they are uninterested in their family. It is simply a trade-off they must make. In order to be able to afford their children’s education, parents must work long hours that sometimes separate them from their families. It’s a sacrifice for the family’s overall happiness and success.

Nevertheless, spending time for family is more valuable because it contributes more in individual’s family’s happiness. Family time is usually fun and relaxing, while work time is stressful. According to the Centre for Family Development, the majority of respondents ranked family time over work when asked about the things that brought the most satisfaction to their lives. Also, when asked separately whether being with their family and being at work were positive or negative experiences, an overwhelming 85 percent responded that they always enjoy the time that they spend with their families, while over 60 percent claimed to experience more stress than pleasure at their jobs.

To sum up, while it is apparent that time used for working is sometimes more crucial than family time, it is undeniable that enjoying time with family is generally more important and should be prioritized.