Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required.

Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

Rapid spread of contagious diseases has made life in most parts of the world harder. Though medications for most of the communicable diseases racing havoc in these nations are available readily around the developed countries, the countries with poor economy have become victims by the inability to afford proper medication. I strongly believe that drug companies should come to aid for this problems by reducing the prices of their products in the countries facing such problems.

First of all, the healthcare system shound be underpriced, if not free as a proper healthcare is a primary right of a person, which no one shound be deprived form. Medications when available freely, the life expectancy of the people will increase as well as the number of people dying due to poverty be reduced. The increase in the life expectancy of Bulgara after the provision of free medicines exemplifies how reduced cost of healthcare aids to the problem.

Moreover, the reduction in the cost would not only aid to the general population, but endorse buisness for the drug companies as well. Reducing the prices effects the number of units solds for the drug, which will help the buisnesses in return. For instance, a 30% growth in the sales of paracetamol in Nepal was seen due to the reduction of the prices by only 10 per cent.

Summing things up, prices of the medical products is not only benificial to the burning issue of unafforadable healthcare in many countries, but assists in the growth in buisness of the drug companies as well. Thus, reducing prices of medications and healthcare system is the third-world countries is an optimal solution to prevent mass hysteria in my opinion.