Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required.

Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

The rapid spread of contagious diseases has made life in most parts of the world harder. Though medications for most communicable diseases, causing serious issues in third-world nations, are available readily around the developed countries, the countries with poor economies have become victims of the inability to afford proper medication. I strongly believe that drug companies should come to aid these problems by reducing the prices of their products in the countries facing such problems.

First of all, the healthcare system should be underpriced, if not free, as proper healthcare is a primary right of a person, which no one should be deprived of. Medications when available freely, the life expectancy of the people will increase as well as the number of people dying due to poverty be reduced. The increase in the life expectancy of Bulgaria after the provision of free medicines exemplifies how reducing the cost of healthcare aids the problem.

Moreover, the reduction in the cost would not only aid the general population but endorse business for the drug companies as well. Reducing the prices affects the number of units sold for the drug, which will help the businesses in return. For instance, a 30% growth in the sales of paracetamol in Nepal was seen due to the reduction of the prices by only 10 percent.

Summing things up, prices of medical products are not only beneficial to the burning issue of affordable healthcare in many countries but assist in the growth in the business of the drug companies as well. Thus, reducing the prices of medications and healthcare system is third-world countries is an optimal solution to prevent mass hysteria in my opinion