Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the healthcare facilities growing expensive by the day, a number of people nowdays resort to alternate medications and treatements rather than investing in proper medical facilities. This trend has created various posetives to the healthcare system itself, while also accounting for plethora of issues for the ill.

Seeking alternative medication for minor medical issues has an economic benefits to both the people and the government. For common diseases—including common cold, diarrhoea, flu, migranes, et cetera—medications which are proven to be effective are readily available throughout the globe, along with some useful home remedies, relatively cheaper than consulting a certified medical professional. Moreover, with lesser people visiting the hospital for minor medical altercations, the hospital facilities will be less exploited, making service easier for terminal cases in the hospital. This leads to the government saving the nation al economy, with lesser expensive tests administered. The reduction in the medical expenditure in Nepal, after promoting indendent clinical and medical consulting services, followed by a decline in the death rates in the same year perfectly exemplifies the impacts of alternative medications.

On the other hand, tendency of people seeking shortcuts to cut costs involved in visiting a medical professional leads to misdiagnosis, while leading to death in some cases. Often rare, but sometimes people suffering for terminal issues overlook their symptoms, leading to congestion of medicines toxic for their conditions. Cases like HIV/AIDS and Corona Virus can easily be misdiagnosed as fever or common cold, which if not diagnosed by a doctor can lead to gruesome consequences. The fatal plague caused by Corona virus in 2020’s can be taken as an example of how alternative medications, through bring an initial relief, do no necessarily eradicate the problem itself.

Taking both sides into consideration, reducing the number of visits to a doctor for common illnesses has a posetive impact on the economy, while sometimes leads to fatal issues caused by misdiagnosis and ingestion of improper medication. Though few in number, the cons outweights the pros for the issues, as in my opinion the negative developments issued with the arguem has a fatal effect on people’s lives.