Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's world, with the advanced technology, it would be easier for people to get access to every platform and they can store their personal information there in order not to manually repeat next time when they pay a visit again. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to potential online crimes and exploitation data.

One serious problem that can arise from people sharing information is that it can lead to the increasing prevalance of identity theft. It can begin with a hacker stealing someone's private information to gain unauthorized access to their bank account and withdraw money or make online purchases. When the victims know, they will try to contact with their bank to stop the transactions, which takes quite a lot of time. Therefore, they sometimes end up with permanently losing all their assets. Despite the efforts made by banks and online security companies to combat these crimes, it remains an ongoing battle without a clear victor. Therefore, utilizing personal information in any online activity entails a significant risk.

Another threat is that once data is posted online, it is likely to be expolited. Some online organizations or companies can use individual's personal information unethically without their accepting for various purposes such as targeted advertising or selling to other parties. Take my brother as an example, one time when he was browsing Facebook, he saw an advertisement for English course having his image as a profile for that website by chance appearing on the newsfeed. He was so surprised and not really happy about it because how his photo could be there in public without his consent and his acknowledge about it. So if there are many websites out there having his information and he did not know about that, making him worried a lot. Therefore, when sharing information, people should be aware of its privacy in case some websites can use it for their purposes.

In conclusion, although it has become more popular for people to put their data on some social platforms, it has brought too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.