Many people send their children abroad to study.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

When do you think is the suitable age for children to be sent abroad.

One of the highly controversial issues these days relates to whether or not it is beneficial for young kids to be sent abroad to study by their parents. With globalization, the world is becoming one big, united country, and it is now easier than ever to get access to international education. But, with every major change, come benefits and drawbacks.

Among all the advantages that studying abroad may have, a crucial one is the chance to get to know another country's costumes from the inside, just like a native. Costumes and traditions are what make a nation unique because they reflect the history of the society, and getting to know them is a privilege. When traveling, it is not easy to do so, unless one has the chance of staying with the locals. Another major advantage of studying abroad comes from the possibility of getting a higher education. In current times, not every country has the infrastructures necessary to provide a good education for everybody, nor funds that are needed to salary university's professors. The importance of sending kids to study at universities in First world countries lays in the number of great opportunities that those schools give to them.

The disadvantages are merely about the expenses to sustain and the distance from the family. Although studying abroad can open many doors, not every family can afford this possibility. Not only Universities' rents are expensive, but kids also have to rent a place to live and the expenses can add up to a large amount. Parents either need to have a great amount of savings, or they have to do many sacrifices to provide a better future for their kids. Last but not least, being distant from the family can be very disturbing in the long run. With today's technologies, the problem is not the inability of not keeping in touch, but not seeing each other in person for long periods of time.

After having discussed the most pertinent point of this issue, I feel that the advantages given by an international education outweigh the disadvantages of being far away from home. The distance can be cut with the help of technology, but the incredible life experience of studying abroad cannot be replaced.