More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that these days there is an increase in the number of people who purchase a variety of household appliances including television, microwave oven or refrigerator, etc. Although there are some demerits related to this trend, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, there are some negative effects if people closely depend on technological equipment. Regarding health aspects, high - tech equipment may have some negative impacts, which seriously affect human’s health. For example, there have been concern that due to the microwave radiation, people may contract brain cancer if they frequently expose to microwave oven. In terms of financial perspective, these electronic devices are usually costly to buy, which may put many families under pressure of being debt. For example, in Viet Nam many households have to pay by instalments with certain interest rate when it comes to buying these commodities.

Despite the negative side mentioned above, I believe that this tendency is a positive development. Firstly, as these appliances have multi-functions, they are extremely convenient for housewives to use. For instance, a modern cooker can be used for cooking a wide range of various recipes such as rice, soup or cake …. Secondly, electronic devices are automatically operated and could be controlled from remote, which helps to reduce significantly the hours that people have to spend on doing the chores. For example, one person can use vacuum machine to clean the floor whiling washing clothes and cooking soup at the same time. As a result, this helps to liberate people, especially women from a burden of housework to participate in social work and have more contribution to society.

In conclusion, while I recognize the disadvantages of using technological devices, I consider this habit consumption to be a positive development overall.