Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, an interesting phenomenon has occurred on the Internet: some social networking websites like Facebook or Instagram have grown to become the most used applications among all others. It is sometimes argued that social applications may create plenty of drawbacks for each individual and the whole society. To a certain extent, I agree that it may be true in the case of many societies. However, I also believe that these websites have brought many benefits to humans.

On the one hand, the idea of social-media applications being utilized as a good source of connectivity is attractive for several reasons. First of all, it is true that people may develop romantic relationships, which help to expand sentiments by using these bases. To illustrate, according to GOOD, which is one of the most famous social magazines, a lower separation ratio was observed in those couples who met through social networking sites. Furthermore, social media has brought friends and relatives together more than ever before. This is especially true for those who live apart. Consequently, we can now instantly reach our loved ones and circulate the latest updates to each other, even if we are located on different continents. Additionally, social networking sites provide positive platforms to share knowledge with each member of the community. Hence, students can now easily share their notes and ideas with their classmates and even with teachers who teach them by accessing these websites.

On the other hand, there is a variety of reasons why I consider that the disadvantages of social networking sites outweigh the advantages. It is noticeable that many of us spend half of our day chatting with other users on messaging apps, such as Messenger, or watching short videos on Tiktok for entertainment. At first, these intriguing contents and videos make us feel relaxed. However, if we build up this habit, we will slowly feel depressed because we gradually withdraw ourselves from real-world interactions and replace them with virtual ones. Moreover, social applications provide a huge environment for cybercriminals. This might be explained by the fact that criminals can easily fake accounts to bully or pour their waves of triggers on others without having to take responsibility. As a result, the victims experience extreme stress and may commit suicide.

In summary, despite the significant positive aspects of social websites, the drawbacks of these platforms are enormous and need to be looked at. As a modern society, everyone should be aware of the difference between real-life and virtual ones.