Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advances have revolutionized the way people socialize on a regular basis. However, many lament for its unfavorable impacts on social relationships. I disagree with this thinking despite acknowledging the reason behind it.

Granted, opponents of advanced communication may argue that it lacks face-to-face interactions needed for a solid relationship. As modern digital applications proliferate, people tend to rely on them, potentially leading to deteriorated bonds. However, this perspective fails to factor in the fact that most, if not all, people might not decide to spend such a large amount of time just communicating online, rendering this worry almost unnecessary. Sophisticated communication, more often than not, serves more as a powerful vehicle for expression than as a problem.

The argument in favor of modern communication is further strengthened by its convenience in conveying information. This enables people to communicate with each other, irrespective of geographical barriers. It manifests itself starkly in the COVID-19 pandemic, when people had to isolate themselves from the outside environment so as not to contract such a fatal disease, making the use of the internet a only yet most effective method of socializing with others. Moreover, even in today’s modern world, the benefits of online communication are still palpable. For example, people do not need to travel long distances to meet their partners directly, serving as a testament to how powerful this advancement can be in our lives.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for opposing online communication, I would contend that it can yield certain benefits, given its convenience in socialization. However, it is also crucial to balance between virtual and reality, ensuring it is a boon to people.