Many people use distance-learning programmes (study material post,TV,internet...)to study at home. But some people think that it cannot bring the benefit as much as attending college or university. Do you agree or disagree?

Distance learning is becoming popular among people of diverse fields, especially now when most educational institutes are closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, some people are questioning the usefulness of online learning; they think these programs are not as beneficial as going to college or university. I disagree with this opinion and believe that online learning programs are incredibly beneficial as they provide an opportunity to learn the subject of your interest and they are cheaper than the formal educational institutes.

With online learning, people can develop any skill that they want. In college or university, students study extra subjects that have no bearing on their future. Most students despise these extraneous subjects and due to lack of interest, they learn nothing from these. It wastes the time of the students that could have been utilized studying the subject of their liking. It is not the case with online learning; students go to the relevant website and start learning the subject of their interest. For instance, there is a lot of knowledge available on YouTube, which includes lectures from MIT professors. Additionally, Coursera is a website that offers courses on a variety of different subjects.

Another benefit of online learning is that it is affordable for most people, but it still provides quality education. College and university education is costly and out of the budget of many people. So, people are forced to do menial jobs to fund their higher education or they get a loan from a bank at an early age, which has its own disadvantages. By contrast, distance learning is less expensive and people can get the same skills. For example, Google, a leading technology company, has started hiring people who have no formal college education. Thus, it proves that the quality of education in distance learning is second to none.

In conclusion, I do not share some people's opinion that distance learning is not that beneficial as people get knowledge of their liking and is economical compared to formal educational institutes.