Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain

work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

or experience.

It could be widely seen that nowadays, a majority part of twelfth grader decides to have a year of before starting their new academic year as an undergraduate. Meanwhile some parties of the public believe that this phenomenon is a waste of time, me, and some other people are in favor of the view that this is effective due to the reasons listed bellow.

On the one hand, it is obvious that pupils are definitely have no rush in beginning their university. Taking a year off can not only relieve the young from their traditional academic track but also provide them time to cope up with their mental health problems. A research held by some psychologists pointed out that there is a remarkable amount of youngsters are having to fight their way against depression or anxiety disorders throughout their university life. This piteous phenomenon is incident to the fact that there these surveyees were facing with several stresses of having to be admitted to a targeted university and have themselves adapted to university life in a shortage of time.

On the other hand, taking a year break before university does wonder for twelfth-formers personal development as well as cultivate their interpersonal skills, for instance, communication skill, conflict-resolving skill, et cetera. For example, those who have their gap year used to travel and exploring cultures can have their knowledge enlarged, know how to communicate with people even though they might not know the vernacular as well s how to take good care of themselves. Correspondingly, school-age children who use their year-off to receive work experiences can probably enhance their horizon on major options and know their potential or broadening their self-confident, social network and beneficial skills.

To conclude, therefore, my perspective is that a gap year is beneficial to the young in several aspects as long as it is planned carefully and used worthy.