Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It has been observed that several students struggle to maintain their focus at school. This issue tends to take roots in two main reasons and could be resolved with two corresponding remedies.

Discussing the principal causes for such inattentiveness, people highlight the impact of learning contents in syllabus and delivery methods. In specific, students are subjected to increasing amounts of academic knowledge while the understanding of which is not effectively facilitated by uninspiring teaching techniques, such as the force-feeding method. Without proper encouragement and support, overwhelmed learners may find it hard to keep up. Aside from this, students’ unhealthy lifestyles also factor in. Frequent late nights and lack of important nutrients, for instance, could be detrimental to brain health, rendering shortened attention span.

Having examined these aforementioned elements, there are two possible solutions. On one hand, learning standards need to be reviewed, filtering out unnecessary contents and improving its cohesion to practical contexts. Simultaneously, teachers’ pedagogy needs to be updated, making use of more leaner-center strategies to make classrooms more engaging and allow students to receive help when needed. On the other hand, parents can help with changes in students’ lifestyles. For instance, there should be a limit to the usage of smart devices and home-prepared meals, using guidelines from dietitians, would help improve students’ focus.

In brief, overbearing workloads and unbalanced routines seem to be two main causes for students’ lack of concentration in school. Thus, efforts to adjust academic training and promote healthier habits are instrumental.