Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Others think they should begin after 7 years of age.

Discuss both views and present your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether to go to school early or after 7 years of age remains a source of controversy. While a number of people believe that early education is more beneficial, I would argue that 7 years old is a better age to commence schooling.

The support for early education is justified by two main reasons. Chief among these is that it allows parents to return to work earlier, which helps to ensure their earnings. This is why most primary schools, where pupils are taken care of by professional staff, have timetables compatible with common working hours. A further rationale is that younger children are more malleable, making them more willing to follow instructions. Take, for example, grade 1 classes in Vietnam, which focus on teaching young learners basic classroom rules and codes of conduct. In comparison to younger ages, those above 7, with a higher sense of self, tend to take more time to adjust to these set protocols.

There are two main reasons to support education after 7 years old. The chief explanation is that children at this age have better physical conditions. For instance, they tend not to fall ill easily when the weather suddenly gets humid or hot. In comparison, younger children are not as strong and may be sick unpredictably and parents might have to take sudden absence leaves to take care of their offspring, which can undermine their work performance. A further rationale is that 7-years-olds have better cognitive abilities, allowing them to absorb condensed knowledge from both logic-heavy disciplines such as Mathematics and practice-oriented ones such as Science and Art. Comparatively, younger children are more suitable to a fun, less intensive approach, which means they can be overwhelmed with the academic content in schools.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is more advantageous to go to school after 7 years old.