Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is a fact that there is an alarming number of students who have difficulty focusing on studying at school. In my opinion, this phenomenon is due to social media influences and the traditional teaching approach, and several measures can be taken to solve this problem.

Students' struggles to pay attention at school are rooted in two main factors. To begin with, social media applications can cause distractions from studying. For example, social networking platforms such as Facebook, TikTok, or Instagram have a huge amount of entertaining content that students find it hard to ignore during a study session. Moreover, traditional ways of teaching also make students less interested in a lesson. In particular, many lectures, especially on difficult, boring subjects, lack joyful, interactive activities and real-life relevance, which fail to motivate students to pay attention to the lesson. The two aforementioned factors are the major reasons why students struggle to concentrate at school.

To address this issue, there are various solutions to implement. Firstly, schools should impose a ban on electrical devices in classrooms to limit distractions. This would effectively encourage students to stay focused during a lesson by not having portable devices with them. Secondly, teachers should improve their lecture content to be more appealing and practical. For instance, they can include cooperative activities like group study and organize more competitions or challenges to keep students engaged. By adopting these solutions, students will be more likely to pay attention to lessons, increasing their chances of academic success.

In conclusion, students' lack of focus in classrooms is a growing problem because of social networks and traditional teaching methods. I strongly believe that immediate steps should be taken to resolve this issue.