Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem

Regarding the issue of education, there has been an alarming concern that many learners are distracted from lessons. There are several justifications leading to the tendency, and I believe that the educational authorities can take viable approaches to the problem.

It is undeniable that the implementation of technological handheld devices and the quality of classes are the underlying reasons for students’ distraction. As the technological application, namely tablets and laptops, makes lessons far more intriguing compared to orthodox teaching methods, children are allowed to use their handheld devices. However, some students often divert their attention to networking sites and games due to the irresistible appealing. Furthermore, the monotony of the lessons can also lead to lack of concentration in classes. Evidently, the teacher-centered approach in education that focuses merely on the lectures and theoretical assignments may fail to catch the students’ attention. That is to say, in the modern era, while children can get access to various sources of information to expand their knowledge from more interactive ways on the Internet, the lessons at schools can be tedious and lack relevance to reality; thus, learners tend to ignore their lessons.

There are numerous pragmatic measures that can be taken to address the predicament. It is beyond doubt that by implementing more effective teaching methods, students will no longer find it struggling to focus on the lessons. To be more specific, the promotion of more interactive classes that require children to get involved more can block the stream of potential distractions from online networking platforms. Should they have to prepare their lessons in advance such as presentations or making speeches instead of listening, they will not have spare time for other tasks but focus on their learning. Moreover, only by training teachers professionally can they design the teaching contents more practical. For instance, teachers can create projects including teamwork, discussion or even making models to ensure interaction and attention among students.

In conclusion, students nowadays struggle to concentrate in classes due to various causes namely technological gadgets and tedious lessons; however, several feasible measures can be adopted to resolve the problem.