In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays being familiar with online applications such as the Microsoft teams or Zoom, is just as important as knowing how to read and write. Although in business environments people prefer more and more to work remotely and avoid physical contact with their colleagues, there are those who consider this a negative development. For me, the answer to this dilemma is not a straightforward task.

What makes online cooperation appealing to most professionals is the flexibility which it offers. For example, if there is a need to host a meeting, you can now meet with your peers or a client through the internet, discuss your day to day matters, and even give a presentation online. In this way, you can save a lot of time time, and money relating to transportation and traveling. Furthermore, enterprises and organizations also benefit from this trend due to the fact that it is now much easier to conduct business with entities and clients who are based abroad who you have never met before in person.

On the other hand, many employees believe that the disadvantages of this trend far exceed its benefits. More specifically, lots of people can not perform to the maximum of their capabilities, when they work from their homes. Human interaction is an important factor to keep an employee functioning and focused. Also, many people feel trapped in their homes, and seek an opportunity to escape, visit their workplace and chat with their colleagues. Despite these negative aspects of online communication, people should not stop familiarizing themselves with any new online application that could help them work from their homes.

In conclusion, I believe that working and cooperating online has much to offer and should at all times be preferred by businesses.