In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the push of the transmitted disease pandemic, online communication is now gain it popularity in companies and even normal lifestyle. At most of workplaces, meeting using internet is now more common than the face to face meeting. This might create many advantages however the undesired effects should not be overlooked.

To look at the bright side, less traditional meeting might be the have a few outstanding benefits. Firstly, with screensharing technologies developed to the state of the art, conference holders won't need to establish many specified equipment just to illustrate the presentation content of the meeting. Secondly, as meeting rooms the normally require large spaces, with this new over the top communication method, the demand for this kind of room can be eased. As a result, organizers don't need to worry about meeting rooms fully booked up, furthermore, companies can save lots of their office spare space for other activities. Last but not least, it gives people who working from home or participating in field working trip the opportunity to engage in important meetings.

Aside of some expected influence, there are some undesirable effects should receive attention. To start with, virtual conference need stable connections of every participators, so sometime, internet issues can cause attendees or even the organizer to disconnect from meeting room. Another unwanted problem is that, organizers might not be able to assure and check attention of participators. Consequently, information which given out in conference can not be fully absorbed or sometime, misleadingly understood occurred. Lastly, since the video gathering can easily be recorded, so the confidentiality of some important meeting won't be assured, this might create some information leaking incidents.

In conclusion, virtual meeting might create convenience as well as desirable benefits but some drawbacks can occurred and should have more attention to handle.