Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Taking a year off from education between finishing school or college and going to university is a popular choice for young people. Generally speaking, doing so does not negatively affect their educational progress and, depending on how the time out is spent, can lead to invaluable experiences before moving into higher education.

For example, one of the most popular reasons for taking an educational break is to travel, this offers the student an opportunity to come face to face with different cultures, to meet new people and in some cases wilt open up new opportunities abroad that may not have arisen at home. Alternatively, some choose to spend the period in work. This could be in the voluntary sector, on conservation projects or in paid work, for example as an au pair or even teaching English overseas. The skills and experiences gained can be extremely useful at university and when looking for employment afterwards.

However, taking a year out can have its drawbacks. To begin with, it means spending a year away from studying. Returning to it and regaining the discipline and focus required can be difficult for some. Additionally, the break can lead to carefully laid plans being blown off course if attractive offers of work or further travel become available.

Nevertheless. it is probably true to say that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. The time spent away from education gives the person the chance to reflect on life and any important decisions before signing up for a lengthy and expensive period of study. What is more, the experiences gained during the year out will build self-confidence and maturity, qualities that will prove invaluable in the years to come.