Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country.

Why is this?

What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

Youngsters are more interested in international celebrities instead of popular historians in their nation. Social media plays a major role in this phenomenon and tackle this problem by school-oriented awareness programmes and authorised creation of historical groups in internet media.

To begin with the effect of social media sites like Facebook, Instagram would lead to young generations focusing on advertisements, new films and brands. They often reject the impact on historical personnel who influence the societies developments and independence except for special occasions and days. Most of the youth spend their quality time chatting, browsing and searching for new traditions and modern technologies instead of past social and historical studies. Media also exaggerated the modern technologies and advertisements with the models, artists and musicians which make new generations concentration on famous peoples attitudes and figures than the actual leaders in society. For instance, most of the channels and radio stations broadcast national history through the fame or voice of stars during the national holidays which exhibit stardom rather than the importance of days and leaders.

Nevertheless, government and educational boards could do an impact on youngsters from the bottom of school periods through theoretical studies and proposals. They can provide projects and assignments regarding the social history of nations to gather data from social websites and different regions. Such materials may enhance the knowledge and attitudes of new generations towards the actual influencers on society. Likewise, the government can reduce the irrelevant advertisements in between the news and search bars. On the other hand, they can publish the biography and milestone of famous leaders in the nation through social media websites. Startup public groups in social sites to get exact details and history of real heroes in history would elaborate the interest and knowledge of young people.

To sum up, with regards to technological development a reverse effect occurred in youth mind in terms of original stars. Even though, the proper guidance and arrangements would flourish the attention and get back the young people to follow the real fighters of the kingdom.