The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern technology society, the media plays a vital role in people’s lives as it is a tool to help people update on the latest news. However, there is an opinion that the media’s attention focuses too much on news related to the lives of famous people and suggests that the media should have more reporting papers about ordinary people. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement.

First of all, personal privacy is a fundamental right of citizens. They are the ones who have the right to decide whether their personal lives should be published on social networks or not. There is a story reported by a journalist about an ordinary man who saved a child from falling from the 2nd floor of a building. It should have been a story that was praised by everyone. However, there are a lot of different opinions appearing on social platforms. Some said that he was lucky enough to catch the girl; others asked what would have happened if the man failed. These negative comments had disturbed the private lives of the one in the reported story. In addition, superstars are used to having their names appear in the newspapers as a part of their popularity, while normal people have no desire or preparation for being widely recognized by the public

Another reason why journalists should write about celebrities more than the average person is the financial benefits from the fame that famous people bring to the economy. When a media company reports on a celebrity, people's attention level on that article will be higher. The company can profit from the shares or clicks from readers and viewers, or even increase sales if the company can cover the products that influencers are using. Furthermore, due to the good reputation that celebrities have, they can call for charity from benefactors to help people in difficult circumstances. For example, Miss H’Henie is reported a lot on social media about her several charity funds and attracting a range of inhabitants to join to help people in need.

In conclusion, the news about celebrities can be more beneficial for either the media or the society than those of normal people.