Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

It is argued that more and more children are getting obesity which was meant for adults only. The reason of it is because fast food restaurants have gained much popularity in recent years, and the most viable solution is raising the awareness of people about fast food consumption.

It cannot be denied that fast food restaurants or franchises are becoming more and more popular. The fact is that junk food is cheap and convenient enough for young kids to buy with their allowance every day. Therefore, they are likely to take in a lot of fat and calories, resulting in putting on much weight. One survey in Canada revealed that the number of young people getting obesity had increased by 40% in 2019 because most of those kids buy fast food for lunch on a daily basis.

The best solution is to educate both parents and kids about the danger of over-eating fast food. If young kids are taught about it, they will be more aware and consume junk food more sparingly. Besides, parents themselves will pay more attention to their kids’ meals and prepare healthier food as a result. In Vietnam, since 2019, before a new school year, students and their parents have been invited to take part in a health seminar and have been educated about healthy eating in which fast food should be consumed in moderation. The seminar has proved to be effective as less kids were reported to be overweight in 2019 compared to 2017 and 2018.

In conclusion, due to the development of fast food industry, more modern kids are getting obesity, and the government should educate people on how to consume fast food appropriately to address this issue.