Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

It is an irrefutable fact that technological advancements are burgeoning in many countries and it has made the life of people much more easier. One such development is the accessibility of copyrighted music and books from the internet for free. In my opinion, to a great extent, this is a positive progression and the supporting points are discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, free downloading of music and books from the internet enable people to save their money. In other words, in the conventional era, people relied on internet cafes and book stalls and provided them the money they demand. Moreover, it was a herculine task to download multiple files at a time. However, nowadays, people can avail their favourite music and books simply by browsing on the internet by self. For instance, a person can download multiple songs from online sites such as gaana, saavan and so on at the same time.

Furthermore, in the past years, a book was purchased rarely as it requires visiting a bookshop and bargaining with the bookseller. But, nowadays things have changed. Because of the flourishing technology, people can download books of their choice. To give a clear example, online applications such as e-books and English library aid people to download hundreds of books for free. This not only saves time but also improved the reading habit of people.

On the other hand, such free offers of internet risks the life of people who rely on internet cafes and bookshops for their daily living. Soon, it will pave the way to the reduction in the number of book stalls. But would that really happen? If the government would not take stringent measures to restore books and bookshops, it can happen.

To conclude, the emergence of technology in all fields help people to improve the standard of living of people. Even though it can affect the life of certain people, free accessibility of books and music is a positive development as it enable people to save money and time.