In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays people can shop, work or meet their friends online via the Internet instead of in person. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to isolation, potentially harmful situations, and also problems later on in life.

One of the serious problems is that it can lead to isolation. Before the internet, people would frequently go to the market to buy food or go out to meet their friends, for example in cafes, bars, or restaurants, whereas now people prefer to stay home alone, book food and drinks or chat online via the internet. As a result, people are starting to spend the majority of their time alone at home in their rooms without meeting others. Isolation of this kind is not healthy and can sometimes lead to depression and other issues.

Another problem is that living without any face-to-face contact or meeting people online can be risky. In other words, people can assume fake identities online as well as hide their true characteristics. This is particularly concerning for teenagers who are impressionable and can easily be led into dangerous situations. For instance, scammers can chat online with them to not only get their information but their family also, then they use it for economic fraud or other illegal work. Furthermore, as their interaction is online, parents have no way of monitoring and protecting their children.

In conclusion, although it is possible to shop, work or contact through the Internet, it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.