More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many employees are allowed not to work in their companies. Some people think that it has a number of disadvantages. However, I believe that there are more benefits than disadvantages.

It is true that it would appear some disadvantages. First of all, while there might be some urgent things in work, when the employees did not gather in the companies together, they could not contact and get information from their colleagues soon. As a result, it would affect their work efficiency. Another disadvantage is that when employees did not work with others face to face, they could not have active work atmosphere. Then, their attitude towards work would be affected too.

While there are several disadvantages, I believe the number of advantages much more outweighs the disadvantages. First of all, working at home is convenient for employees. They do not have to waste time on transportation anymore . In fact, employees in cities always have to spend more than an hour on the way to their companies, especially in the metropolitan cities which usually have traffic jams. Another benefit of working at home is that it can save electric energy and fuel because companies do not need to keep lights on all the time and the employees would not use vehicles on the ways to the companies. These results are also good for our environment.

In conclusion , I argue that working at home has more advantages than disadvantages. I think it would benefit the society along with the employees if we all keep doing it.