More and more fathers stay at home to take care of their children.

What are the causes of it?

Is this a positive or negative development?

The trend in which men decide to become stay-at-home fathers is increasing. In my opinion, there are some justifications for this development, and it is greatly beneficial for our society.

The fact that many female laborers today earn more than their partners, and the spread of novel gender equality ideas are two explanations why more and more male parents would like to stay at home to take care of their children. With regard to the former, many women today possess superior competency compared with men, thus granting them more desirable incomes; and considering the costs of daytime childcare in many countries, which could account for a huge share of couples’ incomes, it seems more reasonable for men to become stay-at-home fathers. Additionally, the rise of ideas regarding gender equality has reduced the mental burden on males who wish to be stay-at-home parents, which was deemed disgraceful in the past. Thanks to these novel ideas, males today do not have to conform to social expectations anymore.

I believe this development greatly benefits our society. To begin with, the environment offered by fathers is usually more ideal compared with that of childcare facilities. This is because these places are often understaffed, which means their personnel have to fulfill heavier tasks; and this could lead to negligence. Meanwhile, fathers usually have to deal with fewer children in most cases and are more caring thanks to the paternal bonds, enabling them to provide a nurturing environment for their offspring. Living in this upbringing delivered by their fathers could foster the children’s cognitive and behavioral development, helping them to become responsible citizens. Secondly, that male parents have to perform maternal tasks could make them appreciate their significant halves and their mothers. This sense of appreciation could help them understand the suffering their women had to endure. Hence, domestic violence, which are mostly caused by men, could be significantly reduced.

In conclusion, women’s increasing work capabilities and gender equality are the reasons why more and more fathers stay at home to take care of their children. I am of the opinion that this trend brings about great advantages for our society thanks to the potential reduction in domestic violence and the ideal environment provided by fathers.