More and more parents allow their young children to play a computer or laptop (e.g. iPad), because they think that children need good technology skills. Do advantages of the development outweigh the disadvantages?

It seems that parents have loosened their restrictions on children's screen time, who believe their exposure to electronic devices is a lesson to be learned from for adjusting themselves to a life on a technological base. However, parents must also be aware of their children's technology usage patterns and intervene if they begin to misuse it.

Tech skills, though not embedded in early school education, are necessarily taught at home to help nurture children's problem solving. The project-centric nature of learning technology skills, such as programming applications or developing digital photography portfolios, instills children with the mindset to break down complex problems into small pieces. In the long run, this process would equip them with necessary skills for success in their future career, especially at the onset of their entering the workforce. Undoubtedly, staff are expect to perform multiple tasks on electronic devices, ranging from employing social media platforms, to software development and programme coding. In other words, if children are expected to independent and proficient in various tech-related skills at future work, farsighted parents need to introduce their children to technology from an early age, even it is just game playing.

However, in cases where parents cannot carefully monitor their children's usage of electronic devices, this online learning experience could be counterproductive. Too much screen time would break the balance between virtual world and physical world, where they should engage in physical activities, social events and other human interaction. Parents may face another problem - the very fact that some teenagers are likely to lose interest in any form of learning may fail their parents who would have taught them about responsible digital citizenship. It is challenging to force children to get trained in tech skills even through gaming.

In conclusion, encouraging children to utilize electronic devices as a tool to enhance their literacy and cognitive skills can be highly beneficial. However, it is crucial that parents remain vigilant against the potential negative effects of technological addiction and misinformation during this process.