More and more parents allow their young children to play a computer or laptop (e.g. iPad), because they think that children need good technology skills. Do advantages of the development outweigh the disadvantages?

It seems that parents have loosened their restrictions on children's screen time, who believe their exposure to electronic devices is a lesson to be learned from for adjusting themselves to a life on a technological base. In my opinion, parents need to step in when teens start to misuse technology rather than accumulate tech-related skills.

Tech skills, though not embedded in early school education, are necessarily taught at home to help nurture children's problem solving. The project-centric nature of learning technology skills, such as programming applications or developing digital photography portfolios, instills children with the mindset to break down complex problems into small pieces. In the long run, this process would equip them with necessary skills for success in their future career, especially at the onset of their entering the workforce. Undoubtedly, staff are expect to perform multiple tasks on electronic devices, ranging from employing social media platforms, to software development and programme coding. In other words, if children are expected to independent and proficient in various tech-related skills at future work, farsighted parents need to introduce their children to technology from an early age, even it is just game playing.

However, education-oriented environment where children learn how to exchange information online and become proficient at applications is too idealized to be created by parents. In reality, technology addiction in children is impossible to shun, who phenomenally focus more on games, videos and Tiktok sharing than on how to sharpen tech skills. The very fact that some teenagers are likely to lose interest in any form of learning may fail their parents who would have taught them about responsible digital citizenship.

In conclusion, children should be encouraged to embrace the best of technology and use it to strengthen their literacy and cognitive skills; however, parents should take precautions for the possibility of tech addiction and misleading information when incorporating it into children's learning.