More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days it is common for parents to give their children electronic devices such as tablets and computers. Although parents argue that this foster children's technological skills, I believe this development has more drawbacks than advantages in children's development.

One benefit of allowing children to play with computers and tablets is that keep children occupied. Children need lots of attention and this might be exhausting for parents. Therefore, giving young ones electronic devices would give parents a break from entertaining them. This could potentially reduce the parent's stress and improve family relationships.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to this habit. Although it may help children to learn technologic skills, they only play games and computer skills already thought in schools. Firstly, children's free time could be utilized in other activities. Children spend time with their peers since this plays a crucial role in their development. While playing with other children, normal toys and the outside, children develop creative, cognitive and social skills.

In addition to this, playing with computers and tablets could affect children's health. This activity makes them physically less active which might lead to serious diseases such as obesity. Also, looking at screens for long periods could damage their eyes. Moreover, it is difficult to monitor children's activities on their computers, they might consume contents that are not appropriate for them. This could harm their mental health.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of allowing children to use computers and tablets outweigh the benefits. While it may give parents time, it could damage children's physical and mental health.