Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Zoos remains a popular place for people to learn about animals and entertainment. Some people believe that zoos provide a sanctuary to endangered animals so, should be kept open. However, others think that zoos are cruel to animals, therefore, should be shut down.

There are many animals that are endangered because of human's activities. Cutting down forests and poaching destroys animals natural habitat. In this case, zoos have a safe environment and trained staff to give animals a place to live and produce offspring. There are examples of this, in China where zoos did a successful job looking after Pandas, a spicy threatened by extinction.

On the other hand, there are more convincing arguments for why zoos should be closed down. Firstly, it is true that there are some species under threat but not all animals fall under this category. Some animals are kept in zoos for the entertainment of visitors. Although it might be fun and educational to see them, it is cruel to put animals in cages and force them to live away from their natural environment. Secondly, animals live in different climates such as African elephants and penguins are put in the same place which they cannot live naturally. Therefore, zoos are not the ideal place for the production of animals, wildlife parks are a better option for this.

In conclusion, it is important to help animals but zoos are not the place for it. Zoos are cruel to animals and not similar enough to their natural habitat. I believe, they should be closed down for animal's sake.