More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is becoming a worldwide issue as more and more people's determination becomes powerless against the appeal of fast foods. Therefore, there have been some suggestions regarding the possible necessity of government interference in the market to strengthen the resolution of the public with economic incentives, effectively halting the obesity pandemic. In my opinion, however, the detriments of this strategy and the existence of better alternatives proved its inadequateness.

First and foremost, while an increase in the cost of fattening food will undoubtedly act as an excellent deterrent to people's desires, unforeseen consequences may surface when implemented. For instance, a decrease in the customer in this industry may lead to a lack of consumption of the ingredients used to supply its massive demands. As such, the flooding of the market by such goods will be probable, which can lead to deflation in their prices, ultimately damaging the economy. Additionally, the significance of this approach is uncertain since the insatiable appetites of the clients might allow them to tolerate any elasticity in the outlays for their enjoyment, similar to policies targeting cigarette agencies, as the eagerness of the addicts granted enterprises immunity toward any price interventions.

On account of the cited drawbacks, a different set of recourses are recommended to tackle this concern. For instance, strict regulations on the production of sugary foods to guarantee their healthiness will be beneficial in lowering the rates of global overweight. In addition, efforts in educating and informing the population about the danger of obesity can create a psychological barrier to excess calorie input, warding off additional weight for people. The impacts from the application of these methods are gradual, but their effects will be more valuable than any spike in the expense of eatables.

In conclusion, despite the minor merits a hike in the payment for snacks might bring, the combination of unanticipated tribulations and more optimized replacement overshadowed them. Hence, an upturn in the price of fast food should be frowned upon.