More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such as
television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or
negative development?
With the development of technology, people are now owning more goods for their
home. Although this development is beneficial to manufacturers and the economy, I
think in the long run, it would be harmful to the environment.
It is reasonable why this trend is considered temporarily positive. The fact that many
people are buying household goods can be interpreted as more and more people are
investing their effort in their families. This conveys a positive social message, that the
overall living standards are improving and that families are spending more time together,
hence the demand for household equipment. Secondly, this trend will expand the market,
which is beneficial to manufacturers.
However, in the long run, this consumption trend can be negative. Buying numerous
household goods is one of the many forms of excessive consumerism. When people are
affected by excessive consumerism, their priorities in life will be distorted. Instead of
focusing on using their own existing goods, they will have an urge to buy and own more
goods. This development is not positive for the environment. Owning more products
means using up more natural resources. Also, when people want to replace owned
products, they will dispose large amounts of waste. There is scientific evidence showing
that discarded household appliances are very harmful when disposed to the environment
in large quantities.
The development of this shopping trend of many people might seems to benefit the
economy at first glance. However, in the long run, this development will leave negative
impacts on the environment. Therefore, people should understand where to draw the
line between investing effort in their family, and affecting the environment.