More and more people today want to buy goods, e.g. clothes and smartphones, with well-known brand names. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the proclivity of purchasing merchandise with luxurious brand is gaining more traction. Admittedly, there are some causes behind this consuming trend and although there are some positive implications of this, I believe that the downsides of it are more considerable.

Firstly, the most significant factor that make consumers prefer buying popular brands’ goods is their quality and reliable warranty systems. Since people now have easy access to various review websites or social media platform, any negative feedback can be spread easily. Therefore, these well-known conglomerates have to ensure the quality of their products so that they will not ruin their reputation. Secondly, the ubiquity of advertisements may lead to the formation of false notion in young adults that only by obtaining the mentioned products can they boast their wealth. To illustrate, Apple illustrates the superior feature of their recently released airpods in comparison with other ordinary earphones with an aim to manipulate customers into thinking that having this device will enable them to become more trendy.

When it comes to the drawbacks of this trend, the fact that companies owning famous brands can have a monopoly on the market is the most worth-mentioning one. This is because when the public is only in favor of products made by these corporations, they will not have competitors and thus, leading to the fact that they will have no motivation to make progression. Furthermore, this also reduces the chances to succeed for start-up companies since they are not able to compete with those giant conglomerates. Moreover, it is a norm that these companies’ products are exorbitant and consequently, if people want to purchase them while they are not so affluent, it can cause some unpayable debts.

In conclusion, the brisk sell of famous products may be attributed to their quality and the frequency of commercials nowadays. However, I would believe that this would bring some adverse effect on the economy and also be disadvantageous to consumers in the long run.