Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private company. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, the question of whether the public sector should exclusively handle medical study without the participation of the private sector has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the role of government is irreplaceable, private corporations should get involved in doing research.

There is a whole host of reasons why the governmental bodies should take charge of carrying out scientific studies. The primary reason for this is that if products such as cures for infectious disease are produced by the state, they will gain more credibility. Additionally, since profit-oriented enterprises usually take part in these projects with an aim to make money, they may have a tendency to distort research results for the sake of profit. For example, recently, a pharmaceutical company in Vietnam have faked their effectiveness to furnish the national immunization program for children with low-quality vaccines, which increased the risk of being vulnerable to sickness in children. Thereby, the fact that the governmental sector handles medical study can ensure public health and trust.

Having said that, however, private sectors play a vitally important part in shouldering the responsibility for conducting scientific studies. By dedicating valuable monetary resources, enterprises can not only help ease the financial burden of the state, but also achieve greater scientific achievements quicker and more efficiently, compared to innovations funded by the limited budget of governmental bodies. For instance, SpaceX takes a leading role in space tourism when it launched the first privately funded rocket into orbit, which created a resounding success and a great dedication to humanity. Therefore, the government has more money to invest in other domains and develop social welfare in lieu of funding these programmes.

In conclusion, both public sectors and profit-making organizations play equally indispensable role in scientific research.