More and more people want to buy clothes, cars, and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend? (24/02/2019)

Recent decades have witnessed the mounting preference of consumers for products from famous brands. From my perspective, I espouse the notion that this trend is incontrovertibly unfavorable and discuss underlying causative factors for this phenomenon in this essay.

On the one hand, there are several rationales why big brands' goods have gained popularity. The leading culprit behind this phenomenon is to show off owners' wealth, prestige, and personal image. Indubitably, because high-end brands usually advertise their products with well-known celebrities and glamorous representatives, numerous consumers believe that luxurious and extravagant personal possessions can embellish their appearances, proportionally reflecting owners' social status and self-esteem. As a result, they are inclined to purchase these large brand goods regardless of the exorbitantly expensive cost.

On the other hand, the increasing prevalence of famous brands' products is incontrovertibly unfavorable. One of the first significant negatives is to put a heavy burden on individuals' financial resources. Irrefutably, high-end products are frequently prohibitively exorbitant; therefore, low-income consumers who are financially precarious would likely have no alternative but to allocate a considerable proportion of their disposable income to afford these extravagant goods. As a result, this will potentially heighten consumers' severe monetary pressures. Another tangible negative is that this trend would increase the disparity and social inequality between the wealthy and the impoverished. No doubt, a volume of people these days evaluate others through their appearance, clothes, and other ornaments, which is, in many cases, synonymous with the fact that the rich are typically treated in a privileged fashion. Therefore, economically disadvantaged people would likely become victims of unequal treatment. Consequently, this would elevate the discrepancy among social classes.

In conclusion, the increasing popularity of renowned brands has its roots in owners' desire to show their social status and personal image. I espouse the notion that this phenomenon engenders low-income consumers' elevated financial burdens and the widening gap between the rich and the poor.