More and more people want to buy clothes, car and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's world, there has a trend of buying goods or other necessities from a luxurious brand. The reason for this trend will be illustrated in the following essay, and in my opinion, it could bring both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, buying products from brands can show off social status or their weight. Nowadays, people tend to judge others by appearance, so most of the population often catch the trend by paying for good and quality items, that’s obvious in today’s life. Beside that, dominant brand names of the strongest economic superpower also try to maintain their positions. For instance, popular brands such as Nike or Adidas always change their design to suit their customer. So their items have to fit with people’s appearance more than the products from smaller brands.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this problem. Well-known brands could be sold at exorbitant prices. For example, people tend to buy new phones when they are released. If they constantly follow this trend, it can put their future financial security at risk. In addition, it will cause various social problems related to the rich and the poor. Impoverished people are not provided with good jobs, they might find it challenging to make money, not to mention buying products from local brands. In contrast, the elite does not care too much about what they are purchasing, so it will cause a conflict between them.

To sum up, the tendency of consuming necessities from famous brands is getting enormous. This trend can bring both pros and cons to the business, therefore, they should be considered by the government.