More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Today’s people are becoming increasingly interested in purchasing clothing, transport and other products from well-known brands. The root cause of this trend is the growth of advertising strategies. Personally, I believe it takes a negative evolution that leads to spreading economic inequality between social levels.

It is undeniable that marketing tactics are a critical component of successful brands which entice their customers through emotional experiences in the digital age today. Cutting-edge digital marketing tactics, influencer marketing and social media platforms are strategically utilized to strengthen the brand connection through visual appeal, meeting their target audience. In other words, top-ranked labels can raise awareness, trust, and familiarity, which are significant factors in the purchasing decision-making process, as well as enhance consumer recognition of the brand name, by leveraging celebrity endorsements to advertise their products. For example, it was reported that after Chanel signed Nicole Kidman in 2003, global sales of the promoted Chanel’s perfume increased by 30%.

The fundamental drawback of this trend in societies is the growing disparity / the widening gap between the wealthy and the poor. Exorbitant goods not only give their owners a strong sense of belonging and confidence in the eyes of others, but they also allow them to flaunt their prosperity and social status. In contrast, the poor who cannot afford high-class items tends to be low self-esteem as well as enhances the desire to own them. As a result, the community struggle with a great of social evils caused by the needy, particularly burglar. A clear case of this issue is Ngoc Son who lives in An Giang province steals a large budget from his family to purchase a high-priced smartphone of Apple brands to give his girlfriend.

In conclusion, the key for prominent brands to appeal to customers is marketing tactics. However, this tendency leads to distinct disadvantages harming societal development through economic inequality.