More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars, and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that an increasing number of people desire luxury products rather than off-brands. There are a lot of reasons for this phenomenon which I believe that has detrimental effects on human life.

The explanations of purchasing high-priced products can be justified by the consumer’s usage experiences and their need for social acceptances. Firstly, brand name products tend to be meticulously crafted and elaborate in production. This can provide a quality experience for buyers, especially for those with strict requirements. Moreover, owning such high-end goods, buyers can support their personal or professional image. This can help them be perceived as fashionable, trendy or high class and fit in a particular subculture or peer group.

Alongside such reasons, I believe that this trend brings more harm than good. Acquiring well-known brand products often comes with a hefty price tag. People who prioritize these products may overspend or go into debt to keep up with the trend, leading to financial strain. Furthermore, many high-end brands engage in excessive production, leading to overconsumption of resources and contributing to environmental degradation. Mass production can result in pollution, waste, and depletion of natural resources.

To sum up, the quality of product experience and social acceptance are the major reasons for acquiring luxury products, which is negative development as its hefty price and environmental degradation.