More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars, and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Increasingly more people opt for brand name products over off-brands in their shopping experience. There could be several explanations for this, which, I believe, is an undesirable trend in the long run.

The motives behind luxury purchases can be justified by the consumers’ confidence in product quality and the need for social acceptance. Firstly, recognized brand names are often known for their superior quality experience. Take the iPhone, a mobile phone product of the world-renowned technology manufacturer, Apple, for example. A new model of the phone is released annually, and regardless of its exorbitant cost, it is still highly sought after due to its great durability and security. Owning such high-priced products, consumers could also be perceived as fashionable, trendy, or high-class. This can help them promote their personal or professional image and fit into a particular subculture or peer group.

It is my firm belief that the trend of purchasing luxury brands can bring more harm than good. Although the quality of such brand products is undeniable, they are often overpriced for incurring a massive sum of money for marketing, and celebrity endorsement. With the equivalent quality, consumers can turn to companies that use skilled craft people to manufacture their products. Such businesses are not about conspicuous displays of consumption but rather well-made products, hence, can offer goods that is durable and subtle in its design, yet, still relatively affordable. For those who want to present a higher social status via their luxury belongings, it can be a double-edged sword as the associations of superiority and privilege that often make luxury so enticing can backfire and make consumers feel inauthentic. To put it another way, people who act out this desirable lifestyle to gain social acceptance could struggle to reconcile who they really are with the artificial role they are playing. Worse still, once consumers develop an emotional attachment to brands, they can keep on buying any products and services of the brands they love. Such brand loyalty can result in a tremendous waste of money, as can be demonstrated in the iPhone fans who are willing to splash out money on the annual new model of the phone and its accompanying accessories even though their old phone still functions well.

In conclusion, brand quality and social status display are two primary reasons for famous brand purchases, which is a negative development since consumers can be overcharged and promote an untrue identity about themselves.