More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The affinity to have famous brands in choosing clothes, car and other item are rising. People love to purchase popular brands due to multiple reasons like social status symbol, peer pressure, corporate manipulation or media portrayal. Although there has some gain for a few parties but I think the fondness to have famous brand is not a good development.

Buying fancy items in daily life has become a social status symbol nowadays. People want to show off his/her lifestyle in social media where peer member comments on it. If the belongings are widely known and luxurious items, then the community people get an idea about how rich or elite the person owing it. This types of display sometimes encourages others to use the similar types of luxury branded goods.

On the other hand, media is playing a gigantic role to promote the idea of branding, as they broadcast different TV or serial where the celebrities are shown wearing costly items. Citizens unintentionally get the feeling about class or standard from the sophisticated portrayal of their favorite actress or models. In many ways media desperately visualize the concepts of happiness lies in consuming great products which biases people to have ecstatic products.

On the contrary, there is another side of the reason for having branded clothings or lifestyle items. In the current world, there are a lots of fake, imitated goods which makes consumers confused. People cannot trust an unknown or less popular item as it may deceive the buyer by vague advertisement. So that natives love to purchase a well-known items even if it is costly to avoid the risk of buying fake items.

In a nutshell, People love to have branded clothes or necessary goods as it becomes a social status symbol, or due to peer pressure or sophisticated media portrayal. in facts, sometimes the famous brands are trusted about their quality of good. However, in a large scale the interest to have fancy branded products is not a positive development for society or for a country due to ill competition to consume better than the peer ones or to present oneself exclusively from in society as a symbol of luxury.